South East APC Rejects Zoning Arrangement For 9th National Assembly


The All Progressives Congress (APC), South-East zone on Saturday rejected the subsisting zoning formula announced by the National Working Committee (NWC) for offices in the incoming 9th National Assembly.

The NWC had earlier announced the zoning of position of Senate President to the North East and Speaker of the House of Representatives to the South West.

Adams Oshiohmole, National Chairman went ahead to present Senator Ahmed Lawan and Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila to President Muhammadu Buhari as the preferred candidates of the APC National leadership for the position of Senate President and Speaker of House of Representatives, respectively.

But, rising from a stakeholders meeting in Enugu on Saturday, APC South East called on the national leadership to revisit the subsisting zoning of principal offices in the 9th National Assembly in a more equitable manner that will accord more deserving positions to the South East zone, noting that the federation rests on six geo-political zones of South East, South South, South West, North Central, North East and North West.


The position of APC South East was contained in a communique issued after the meeting by Emma Eneukwu, the National Vice Chairman, South East.

According to the communique, the meeting urged the national leadership to draw strength from the need to utilize the zoning of principal offices in the 9th National Assembly to further deepen and strengthen the electoral appeal of the party, especially in parts of the country where it may be considered weak.

“At all times, it should be borne in mind that since democracy is a dynamic process, our great party should remain a truly national political party with broad based support in all parts of the country, the South East inclusive,” South East APC further stated.

It equally deplored, in strong terms, the undue interference and unwholesome meddlesomeness by forces from outside the zone in the affairs of APC South East, aimed at factionalising and destabilizing the party in the zone.

READ MORE:  2019: Show your medical report, health experts task candidates

The party urged its members in the zone to resist such and also implored those involved to promptly discontinue same in order to strengthen their great party’s continued unity and cohesion as members of one family.

South East APC implored both leaders and members of the party in the zone to redouble efforts and leave no stone unturned in the pursuit of constructive opposition in the various states of the zone in order to protect the legitimate aspirations of their people and ensure that their rights were not trampled upon or compromised.

The party congratulated President Muhammadu Buhari on his re-election for a second tenure and resolved that a letter of congratulation should be forwarded to him to express support of the South East APC for his victory in the 2019 presidential elections.

South East APC commended the electorate in the South East geo-polilitical zone for the faith reposed in their great party during the just concluded 2019 general elections.

It stated that the improved support for the party in the zone was indicative of the rising popularity and increasing acceptance of the programmes of the party by the electorate in the zone.

APC South East meeting expressed confidence that elected representatives of the people on its platform would redouble their efforts to ensure that they meet the legitimate expectations of both their respective constituents in particular and the electorate in the zone in general.

Top party stalwarts in attendance at the meeting included the Minister of Science and Technology, Dr Ogbonnaya Onu, Minister of Labour, Dr Chris Ngige, Senator Chris Adighije, Senator-elect, Orji Uzor Kalu, Hon. Nkeiru Onyejeocha, Hon. Nnana Igbokwe, Hon. Chike Okafor, state chairmen from the five states of South East and other stakeholders.