2023: Anxiety In Imo As INEC Releases Final List Of Candidates - Mc Ebisco 2023: Anxiety In Imo As INEC Releases Final List Of Candidates - Mc Ebisco

2023: Anxiety In Imo As INEC Releases Final List Of Candidates

Serious anxiety has taken over Imo State, Daily Trust reports.

The anxiety is over the final list released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Among those who made the list were the Spokesperson of the Conference of United Political Parties CUPP, Ikenga Imo Ugochinyere, who will contest the Ideato North/Ideato South Federal constituency under the Peoples Democratic Party and former senator Ifeanyi Araraume, who is candidate for Imo North senatorial zone under the Labour Party.

The Port Harcourt road office of INEC was jam-packed as people rushed to view the list.

Jubilations immediately rend the air when Ugochinyere was sighted as one of the candidates for the election. There had been apprehension that his name may not appear following two uproar that greeted his revelation that there were irregularities in the last voters register where some areas were inflated.

Ugochinyere’s name appeared with those of six other candidates. They include Opara Joachim, AA; Okafor Ugonna, SDP; Uba Chinonso Theodore, ADC, Amadi Akarachi Etinosa, APC, Nwawuba Henry Ndochukwu, APGA and Iwuala, APM.

On the list released by INEC, 18 political parties fielded 1,101 candidates for the 109 Senatorial seats and 3,122 candidates for federal constituencies that is house of representatives seats, making a total of 4,223 candidates contesting for 469 legislative positions.

INEC has urged all political parties to channel observations on the list of candidates to the commission and such must be signed by the National Chairman and Secretary of the political party and supported with an affidavit as provided in section 32(2) of the Electoral Act 2022.

The final list of candidates for state elections (governorship and state constituencies) will be published on 4th October 2022 as indicated on the Timetable and Schedule of Activities for the 2023 general elections.