APC Elects Six New NWC Members, One National Officer

The National Working Committee of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) elected six members to its fold on Wednesday, August 23.

The decision was reached in line with the directives of the APC National Executive Committee (NEC).

The ruling party’s NEC in its last meeting ceded part of its powers to the NWC to allow the party’s administrative organ to fill vacant NWC and zonal positions.

The party’s National Secretary, Ajibola Basiru, during a media briefing, disclosed the outcome of the NWC meeting held at the APC National Secretariat and election of the new officials.

The new officials are the Deputy National Chairman, North, Ali Bukar Dalori (Borno State); National Vice Chairman, North West, Garba Datti Muhammad (Kaduna State); National Legal Adviser, Prof. Abdul Karim Abubakar Kana (Nasarawa State); National Welfare Secretary, Donatus Nwankpa (Abia State); National Woman Leader, Mary Alile Idele, PhD (Edo State); and, the Deputy National Publicity Secretary, Duro Meseko (Kogi State). Also, the North Central Zonal chapter of the party has a new Zonal Organizing Secretary, Ikani Shuaibu Okolo (Kogi State).

According to Basiru, the officials were not appointed but elected in line with the constitution of the party, adding that there will be no need for their ratification in any future national convention.