Latest News

BREAKING: After Kwankwaso’s Defeat, Influential Senator Dumps NNPP, Joins PDP

The senator representing Bauchi South senatorial district under the New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP), Lawal Yahaya Gumau, has defected to the ruling Peoples Democratic Party in the state.

Gumau, a former member of the House of Representatives representing Toro Federal Constituency, contested and won the senate seat under the All Progressives Congress (APC), a report by The Punch confirmed

Gumau, alongside his campaign Coordinators and hundreds of supporters, dumped the NNPP after the just concluded election in the state, The Nigerian Tribune reported.

However, after failing to get the APC ticket to contest the Senate seat in the 2023 general elections, he decamped to the NNPP and got the ticket after serious wrangling between him and the current Member of the House of Representatives representing Bauchi Federal Constituency, Yakubu Shehu.

He was said to have been favoured by the national leadership of the NNPP and its presidential candidate, Rabiu Kwankwaso, ahead of Shehu.

The police in Kano have detained Aliyu Madakin Gini, a House of Reps member-elect in the just-concluded 2023 National Assembly elections on the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP) platform, over the illegal possession of a firearm.

Madaki, 56, was elected to represent the Dala federal constituency of Kano state in the 10th House of Representatives.

Madaki was invited by the police on Wednesday, March 1, after a picture of him carrying a pump action gun during a homecoming rally for the presidential candidate of the NNPP, Engr. Rabiu Kwankwaso emerged online.

In another development, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the president-elect, has constituted a reconciliation committee to meet with Atiku Abubakar, the presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Rotimi Akeredolu, the governor of Ondo state, disclosed this on Wednesday, March 1, adding that elders of the All Progressives Congress (APC) dominate the reconciliation committee.

Other presidential candidates the committee will meet are Peter Obi of the Labour Party and Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).