BREAKING: INEC Declares YPP Candidates Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo and Moses Essien Winners in Akwa Ibom Rerun Elections

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo and Moses Essien, candidates of the Young Progressives Party (YPP), as the winners of the rerun elections for the House of Representatives and House of Assembly, respectively, in Akwa Ibom State.

Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo contested the rerun for Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency against his closest rival, Dr. Glory Edet of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Moses Essien stood for the Ibiono Ibom State House of Assembly.

Nabie Jude, the Collation Officer for the House of Representatives rerun, declared that Ukpong-Udo secured 24,050 votes, defeating Edet, who received 17,232 votes.

“Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo of the YPP, having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner,” announced Jude.

The cancellation of two units by INEC due to cases of thuggery did not affect Ukpong-Udo, who had moved to the YPP to pursue his second term bid in the 2023 elections after failing to secure the PDP ticket.

Similarly, Godwin Ayi, the Collation Officer, announced Moses Essien, also a candidate of the YPP, as the winner of the Ibiono Ibom State constituency rerun poll held on Saturday.