Latest News

Buhari formally renames Ogun sub-region Egbado to Yewa

President Muhammadu Buhari has signed into law the Bill for an Act to alter provisions of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 CAP C23 LFN 2004, to make provision for change of name of the area referred to as ‘Egbado’ to ‘Yewa’ in Ogun State.

The Bill referred to as “The Principal Act,” sponsored by Senator Tolu Odebiyi in the 9th Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, in a report of the Senate Committee on review of the 1999 constitution (fifth alteration) Bills 2022, was among the 16 Constitution amendment Bills assented to by the president on Friday.

With the presidential assent, Egbado North and Egbado South Local Government Areas are now to be known and addressed as Yewa North and Yewa South, respectively.

It will be recalled that the ‘Egbado’ people of Ogun West Senatorial District had consistently demanded to be addressed as ‘Yewa’.

Odebiyi noted that he sponsored the Bill in fulfillment of the request by the community, youths, and political leaders of Yewa land.