Farmers, herders crisis: Jigawa govt inaugurates peace, reconciliation committees

3 Min Read

Secretary to the Government of Jigawa State (SSG), Malam Bala Ibrahim, has inaugurated peace and reconciliation committees to ensure peaceful coexistence between farmers and herders in Janwawa and Bagadaza in Birnin Kudu and Gwaram Local Government Areas.

During the inauguration ceremony, the SSG stated that the establishment of the committees demonstrated the Governor Umar Namadi administration’s commitment to promoting peace and stability among the state’s citizens.

The SSG outlined the committees’ terms of reference, which include ensuring fairness and justice in the allocation of farmlands, demarcating stock routes, and creating grazing reserves.

The committees were also tasked with educating farmers and herders about the importance of each group to the society and encouraging peaceful coexistence.

He added that the committees were to foster amicable resolutions to disputes between farmers and herders.

They would ensure that farmers do not encroach on any existing tracks leading to streams, rivers, or other water sources used for watering livestock.

In response on behalf of both committees, the Chairman of the Janwawa Committee in Sundumina District and Jakadan Sulhu Dutse, Alhaji Ado Ahmed, expressed gratitude for the appointment.

Dutse pledged that the committees would work diligently to justify the confidence placed in them.

Members of the Janwawa Committee, Sundumina District, include: Alhaji Ado Ahmed, Chairman, Jakadan Sulhu Dutse, Fulani Shehu, Sale Babba, Adamu Janwawa, Amadu Jangari, Alhaji Shehu Gwauraki Salisu, Abdulrahman Aliyu Safa, Alhaji Adamu Garin Kadanaya, Representative of Police, Representative of Army, Representative of DSS, Representative of NSCDC, Suleman Muhammad Kilan, Representative of Farmers and Herdsmen Board, D/DAGS Birnin Kudu Local Government Council, Secretary.

Members of the Bagadaza Committee, Fagam District, include: Honourable Ada Yakubu Zandam, Chairman, Musa Isah Bagadaza, Ya’u Haruna, Musa Maijama’a, Alhaji Abdu Salihawa, Maikudi Shanu, Isyaku Alhaji Musa, Sule Aliyu Sarkin Kasuwa, Umar A. Abdullahi Jikas, Usaini Ibrahim Yarfi, Alhaji Inusa Bada Dinara, Representative of Police, Representative of Army, Representative of DSS, Representative of NSCDC, Bako Amaryawa, Special Adviser, Farmers and Herdsmen, Associate Prof. Salim Lawan Isawa, Secretary.

Recall that in recent weeks, many farmers and herders clashed in some areas of Jigawa, threatening the relative peace in the state.

Share This Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply