Senate Confirms Tinubu’s Nominees For Police Service Commission

2 Min Read


On Tuesday, July 11, the Nigerian Senate confirmed the nominees of President Bola Tinubu to serve in the Police Service Commission.

The confirmation followed a report by the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Police Affairs, Ahmed Mallam-Maidori Abdulhamid, saying that the nominees were screened in line with the mandate of his Committee and found competent for the appointment.

In his contribution, Senator Seriake Dickson explained that President Bola Tinubu’s choice of one of the nominees, DIG Hashiru Salihu Argungu, rtd, to serve as Chairman of the Police Service Commission was a good development, given his wealth of experience having been in the police all through his life.

Seriake said: “Mr Senate President, Distinguished Colleagues, I am a member of the Committee that screened the nominees and I can attest to their competence, particularly the former Deputy Inspector General of Police, Argungu who has seen it all while he served in the Police and bringing his wealth of experience to bear on the Police Service Commission was the best thing to do.”

After contributions by the former Senate President, Dr Ahmad Lawan, commending the Committee for a detailed report, Senate President, Godswill Akpabio dissolved the plenary into the Committee of the Whole and confirmed the nominees.

The nominees confirmed are DIG Hashimu Salihu Argungu – Chairman, Chief Onyemuche Nnamani – Secretary and Barrister Fredrick Taiwo Lakanu – Member.

In his remark after confirmation, Senate President, Godswill Akpabio charged the Senate Committee on police Affairs to ensure oversight of the Police Service Commission to avoid the mistakes of yesteryears.

He tasked the Committee to ensure that the PSC works harmoniously with the office of the Inspector General of Police in the recruitment of police officers to ensure the security of the nation.

Share This Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply