Latest News

These current six female senators are not returning to the 10th Senate – here’s the list

None of the current six female senators would make it to the 10th Senate because they either lost their elections or did not contest at all.

Those who lost their re-election bids are Senator Biodun Olujimi (Ekiti South); Senator Stella Oduah (Anambra North); and Senator Lilian Ekwunife (Anambra Central)

Senators Oluremi Tinubu (Lagos Central), Senator Nora Ladi Dadu’ut (Plateau South), and Senator Akon Etim Eyakenyi (Akwa Ibom South) did not seek re-election.

(1) Abiodun Christine Olujimi is a Nigerian politician, the Senator currently representing the Ekiti South constituency, and the minority leader of the Nigerian Senate. She was a board member of the Nigerian Communications Commission.

In the 2019 General Elections, she initially lost her seat representing Ekiti South to the APC candidate Prince Adedayo Clement Adeyeye. However, the State Assembly Election Tribunal and the Appeal Court later declared her the Ekiti South Senatorial District winner. Consequently, she was sworn into the Nigerian Senate by the Senate President on November 14 2019.

(2) Princess Stella Oduah is a Nigerian Senator and former Minister of Aviation. She was confirmed to the ministerial post and sworn in on July 2, 2011, and was deployed to the Ministry of Aviation on July 4, 2011. In 2015, she was elected to the Nigerian Senate to represent Anambra North Senatorial District. She was one of the only seven women elected to the 8th. The others were Rose Okoji Oko, Uche Ekwunife, Fatimat Raji Rasaki, Oluremi Tinubu, Abiodun Olujimi, and Binta Garba. Oduah was re-elected to a second term in the Senate in 2019.

(3) Uche Lilian Ekwunife is a Nigerian politician and Ex Nigerian Senate representing the people of Anambra Central Senatorial District of Anambra State. She is one of the House’s most active female senators. Ekwunife stood for the Anambra governorship election twice unsuccessfully. She was elected a representative in 2007 for Anambra‘s Anaocha/Njikoka/Dunukofia constituency. She was one of 11 women elected in 2007 who was re-elected in 2011 when the lower House was nearly 95% male. Other women selected included Juliet Akano, Mulikat Adeola-Akande, Abike Dabiri, Nkiru Onyeagocha, Nnena Elendu-Ukeje, Olajumoke Okoya-Thomas, Beni Lar, Khadija Bukar Abba-Ibrahim, Elizabeth Ogbaga, and Peace Uzoamaka Nnaji.

(4) Oluremi Tinubu is a Nigerian politician who served as the first lady of Lagos State and the wife of former Lagos governor Bola Tinubu from 1999 to 2007. She is currently a senator representing Lagos Central Senatorial District at the Nigerian National Assembly. She became the first lady of Lagos State when her husband, Bola Tinubu, was elected as governor. Tinubu was among over 100 senators elected in the 8th assembly in 2015. Six were women; the others were Stella Oduah and Uche Ekwunife, representing Anambra, Fatimat Raji Rasaki, Rose Okoji Oko, and Binta Garba. At the 2019 general elections, she retained her senatorial seat representing Lagos Central, making it her third tenure in office.

(5) Nora Ladi Daduut is a Nigerian Professor and Politician. She is the Senator representing Plateau South Senatorial District at the 9th Nigerian National Assembly. She was elevated to the position of professor in 2018 by the University of Jos. She is the first female Senator from Plateau State. In the 2020 Plateau South Senatorial District bye-election, she represented the All Progressives Congress at the election, where she polled 83,151 votes, while her closest rival at the polls, Hon. George Daika, representing the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), polled 70,838 votes. She was sworn into the Senate on December 15, 2020.

(6) Akon Etim Eyakenyi is a Nigerian politician. She is the current Senator representing Akwa Ibom south senatorial district in Akwa Ibom State. She was elected into the Senate during the 2019 general elections in Nigeria and won with a total vote of 122,412. She is the current Senator representing Akwa Ibom south senatorial district in Akwa Ibom State. She was elected into the Senate during the 2019 general elections in Nigeria. Before being elected into the Senate, she was the former Minister of Lands, Housing, and Urban Development during the regime of President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan