List of 16 candidates and their political parties

Bayelsa state, Yenagoa – In Bayelsa state, 15 candidates and political candidates will be slugging it out with Governor Douye Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Saturday, November 11 governorship election.

Gov Diri will slug it out with 15 other candidates including Sylva and Eradiri, in the November 11, 2023 poll.
Photo credit: Timipre Marlin Sylva, Douye Diri, Udengmobofa EradiriSource: Facebook

16 participating candidates and their political parties in Bayelsa election

Diri’s major rivals, former governor and the immediate minister of state for petroleum, Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and Udengmobofa Eradiri of the Labour Party (LP)alongside 13 others will wrestle power tomorrow Saturday to determine the next phase of his political journey.

Less than twenty-four hours before the poll, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has compiled a list of the 16 major contenders vying for the post of the governorship seat and battling with Diri, to lead the state in the next four years:

The full list compiled by INEC reads thus:

1. Governor: Idikio Warmate Jones (Accord Party)

Deputy governor: Owo Desmond Inodu

2. Governor: Bufumoh Akpoebi Alex (Action Alliance Party)

Deputy Governor: Okoya Ledebi Lilian

3. Governor: Kalango Stanley Davies (African Democratic Congress ADC)

Deputy governor: Obesi Otasome Benjamin

4. Governor: Oguara Nengimonyo (ADP)

Deputy governor: Omonibo Angonimi

5. Governor: Sylva Timipre Marlin (All Progressives Congress)

Deputy governor: Maciver Joshua

6. Governor: Subiri Waibodei Joseph (APGA)

Deputy governor: Lott Kime Thompson

7. Governor: Osharikeni Saturday (APM)

Deputy governor: Ugbenbo Woyindeinyefa

8. Governor: Ogege Kemelayefa Mercy (APP)

Deputy governor: Leigh Robertson Kirk

9. Governor: Ben Victor Magbodo (Boot Party BP)

Deputy governor: Ineinei Ebiowei Major

10. Governor: Eradiri Udengmobofa (Labour Party)

Deputy governor: Nathus Benjamin

11. Governor: Azebi Bestman Ayabeke (New Nigeria Peoples Party)

Deputy governor: Ganagana Ebimowei

12. Governor: Micah Akeems

Deputy governor: Ziprebo Pius Emomotimi

13. Governor: Diri Douye (PDP)

Deputy governor: Ewhrudjakpo Oborawharievwo Lawrence

14. Governor: Ozato Erepadei Erepadei (PRP)

Deputy governor: Okala Azibola

15. Governor: Osuluku Binalayefa (SDP)

Deputy governor: Doibo Ebinabo

16. Governor: Simeon Imomotimi Karioru (ZLP)

Deputy governor: Josiah Famvie

Bayelsa guber polls: Why I’ll re-elected on Saturday, Gov Diri reveals

Earlier, AmbaJay reported that Governor Douye Diri said the people will re-elect him for a second tenure on Saturday, November 11 in the Bayelsa governorship election.

Diri said Bayelsans will vote for him again because of his performance in the last four years.

He stated this while speaking at the grand finale of his campaign at the Oxbow Lake Pavilion in Yenagoa on Tuesday, November 7.

Bayelsa elections 2023: Ex-President Jonathan unveils anointed candidate

Meanwhile, AmbaJay reported that former President Goodluck Jonathan unveiled his preferred candidate for the November 11 governorship election in Bayelsa state.

Jonathan backed Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for a second tenure because of the stability of the state.

INEC adds APC’s Sylva to list of candidates after court order

Sylva’s name was added to the list of candidates contesting the Bayelsa governorship election.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) added Sylva’s name to the list on Monday, November 6, in compliance with the Court of Appeal judgement.